The Center for STEM Education awards 20 grants state-wide as a part of the Texas Teacher Externships Program (TEX2)

 

TEX2 MapThe Center for STEM Education is excited to announce the awarding of 20 grants to applicants from around the state of Texas to host teacher externship programs during the summer of 2018, as part of the new Texas Teacher Externships Program, with follow-up in classrooms during the fall semester of the 2018-19 school year. Awardees include Independent School Districts, Education Service Centers, Institutions of Higher Education, Charter Schools, and one non-profit organization. These organizations will use their awards to offer educators unique professional development opportunities that connect the classroom to the workplace to improve student academic achievement. By participating in a teacher externship experience, educators will engage in activities with business and industry to learn how classroom content and learning strategies are applied to the workplace. Externships will not only strengthen teachers’ knowledge and skills, but help them integrate new-found business/industry-based knowledge into their teaching practice.

The grant period, which began March 1, 2018, will run through February 28, 2019. Funded by the Texas Education Agency, TEX2 will provide resources and support to offer over 300 teachers experiences interacting directly with industry leaders in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields.

To learn more about individual programs or connect with their project director, see the list below. To learn more about the Texas Teacher Externships program, please join our mailing list or contact Ellie Goldberg at, ellie.goldberg@utexas.edu.

 

 

2018 Texas Teacher Externships Projects

View complete TEX2 Project Directory

 

Business Brought To Life: An Innovative Externship to Introduce the Entrepreneurial Mindset to Teachers
Youth Code Jam – San Antonio, TX
Debi Pfitzenmaier
debi@youthcodejam.org

Career Ready Connally Cadets
Connally Independent School District – Waco, TX
Sara Rudd
srudd@connally.org

Crowley ISD Teacher Externships
Crowley Independent School District – Crowley, TX
Annette Duvall
annette.duvall@crowley.k12.tx.us

ESC Region 2 Externships
Education Service Center Region 2 – Corpus Christi
Patricia Garcia
patricia.garcia@esc2.us

ESC Region 8 Externships
Education Service Center Region 8 – Pittsburg, TX
Lisa Ellermann
lellermann@reg8.net

ESC Region 16 Externships
Education Service Center Region 16 – Amarillo, TX
Brenda Foster
brenda.foster@esc16.net

ESC Region 19 Externships
Education Service Center Region 19 – El Paso, TX
Patricia Juarez
pjuarez@esc19.net

ESC Region 20 Externships
Education Service Center Region 20 – San Antonio, TX
Nancy Rodriguez
nancy.rodriguez@esc20.net

Harlingen CISD Teacher Externships Program
Harlingen Consolidated Independent School District – Harlingen, TX
Raul Alvarez
raul.alvarez@hcisd.org

HAYS CISD CTE Externships
Hays Consolidated Independent School District – Kyle, TX
Marco Pizana
marco.pizana@hayscisd.net

Judson ISD – Partnering For Our Future
Judson Independent School District – Live Oak, TX
Deborah Rice
drice@judsonisd.org

Leadership Prep School Externships
Leadership Prep School – Frisco, TX
Sheacy Thompson
sthompson@lpsfrisco.com

NASA Texas Space Grant STEM Enhancement in Earth Science (SEES) Teacher Externships
UT Center for Space Research – Austin, TX
Margaret Baguio
baguio@tsgc.utexas.edu

NCTC Externships – Industry to Classroom Externships (ICE)
North Central Texas College – Gainesville, TX
Lisa Bellows
lbellows@nctc.edu

Rice University School Mathematics Project’s Texas Teacher Externships Program
Rice University – Houston, TX
Richard Parr
rparr@rice.edu

Roscoe Collegiate ISD Externships Project
Roscoe Independent School District – Roscoe, TX
Andy Wilson
awilson@roscoe.esc14.net

STEM Grant Sci-Tech Preparatory Externships Program
Wayside Schools – Austin, TX
Tammy Koelling
tkoelling@waysideschools.org

 UTPB STEM Academy Teacher Externships
The University of Texas of the Permian Basin – Odessa, TX
Shannon Davidson
davidson_s@utpb.edu

Teacher Externships: A Pathway for Inspiring and Preparing the Future Workforce
The University of Texas Medical Branch – Galveston, TX
Marguerite Sognier
masognie@utmb.edu

United Independent School District Externships
United Independent School District – Laredo, TX
Angelica R. Sanchez
asanchez@uisd.net

 

 

TEX2 Interest Form

Are you a teacher, administrator, or industry representative who’d like more information or to participate in this program? Join our contact list.

 

Contact

Learn more about the Texas Teacher Externships Program